Coming Home PA http://wesa.fm en Advocacy Group For Homeless Veterans Asking Government For More Help http://wesa.fm/post/advocacy-group-homeless-veterans-asking-government-more-help <div class="field-item even"><span class="date-display-single" content="2012-06-25T11:00:00-04:00">Monday, June 25, 2012</span></div><div class="field-item even"><p>An estimated 150,000 American veterans are homeless or become homeless upon returning from overseas, and an advocacy group said the government is not doing enough to alleviate the issue. Mon, 25 Jun 2012 20:00:22 +0000 Katie Zak 3304 at http://wesa.fm VA To Hire More Mental Health Workers http://wesa.fm/post/va-hire-more-mental-health-workers <div class="field-item even"><span class="date-display-single" content="2012-06-18T03:00:00-04:00">Monday, June 18, 2012</span></div><div class="field-item even"><p>In the next few months, <a href="http://www.pittsburgh.va.gov/"><span class="caps">VA</span> Pittsburgh Healthcare system</a> will be hiring approximately 42 new mental healthcare&nbsp;workers.</p><p>The <span class="caps">VA</span> will be bringing on clinicians and support staff to assist the ever-growing number of veterans who seek and require mental health&nbsp;help.</p> Mon, 18 Jun 2012 19:59:33 +0000 Erika Beras 3305 at http://wesa.fm New VA Facility to Streamline Services http://wesa.fm/post/new-va-facility-streamline-services <div class="field-item even"><span class="date-display-single" content="2012-05-02T15:10:00-04:00">Wednesday, May 2, 2012</span></div><div class="field-item even"><p>In a space that was until recently a parking lot now stands the newest addition to the <span class="caps">VA</span> Pittsburgh Healthcare&nbsp;System.</p><p>It took more than a decade for it to come together, but the new facility in Oakland is being touted as the future of veteran-centered health&nbsp;care.</p> Wed, 02 May 2012 19:57:21 +0000 Erika Beras 3307 at http://wesa.fm Panel Gathers to Explore Veteran Transition http://wesa.fm/post/panel-gathers-explore-veteran-transition <div class="field-item even"><span class="date-display-single" content="2012-04-19T13:25:00-04:00">Thursday, April 19, 2012</span></div><div class="field-item even"><p>Veterans and veterans’ advocates gathered Wednesday night to hash out some of the issues facing <span class="caps">GI</span>’s as they return from combat zones and try to assimilate back into stateside life. The discussion repeatedly returned to finding and keeping a&nbsp;job.</p> Thu, 19 Apr 2012 19:56:20 +0000 Mark Nootbaar 3308 at http://wesa.fm Allegheny County Gets Housing Vouchers For Homeless Veterans http://wesa.fm/post/allegheny-county-gets-housing-vouchers-homeless-veterans <div class="field-item even"><span class="date-display-single" content="2012-04-18T03:00:00-04:00">Wednesday, April 18, 2012</span></div><div class="field-item even"><p>When many <span class="caps">U.S.</span> military personnel leave the service to return home, they might not have a home to return to or they wind up in the streets&nbsp;eventually.</p> Wed, 18 Apr 2012 19:54:40 +0000 Kevin Gavin 3309 at http://wesa.fm For Veterans with PTSD, Building Relationships is No Easy Task http://wesa.fm/post/veterans-ptsd-building-relationships-no-easy-task <div class="field-item even"><span class="date-display-single" content="2012-04-16T12:55:00-04:00">Monday, April 16, 2012</span></div><div class="field-item even"><p>As men and women return from military tours in Iraq and Afghanistan, they go through a significant adjustment as they rejoin civilian life. Part of that adjustment is figuring how to communicate their experience at war. This can be especially challenging for veterans with post-traumatic stress disorder (<span class="caps">PTSD</span>) who are trying to build new, romantic&nbsp;relationships.</p> Mon, 16 Apr 2012 19:52:28 +0000 Larkin Page-Jacobs 3310 at http://wesa.fm For Veterans Coming Home Isn't Always Easy http://wesa.fm/post/veterans-coming-home-isnt-always-easy <div class="field-item even"><span class="date-display-single" content="2012-04-16T03:07:00-04:00">Monday, April 16, 2012</span></div><div class="field-item even"><p>It was recorded in ancient Greek and Roman literature. In the 1600’s a Swiss physician coined the term “nostalgia” to refer to soldier’s conditions. Mon, 16 Apr 2012 19:51:04 +0000 Erika Beras 3311 at http://wesa.fm New Evidence Shows Being Active Outdoors Benefits Veterans http://wesa.fm/post/new-evidence-shows-being-active-outdoors-benefits-veterans <div class="field-item even"><span class="date-display-single" content="2012-04-14T05:36:00-04:00">Saturday, April 14, 2012</span></div><div class="field-item even"><p>The Sierra Club’s mission for its <a href="http://www.sierraclub.org/military/" target="_blank">Military Families and Veterans Initiative</a> is, “to ensure those who defended our country and their families get to enjoy the land they served.” Heading up that mission is Stacy Bare, an Iraq war veteran, based in Washington <span class="caps">D.C.</span></p> Sat, 14 Apr 2012 19:47:47 +0000 Jennifer Szweda Jordan 3312 at http://wesa.fm