Neda Ulaby http://wesa.fm en For These Vegans, Masculinity Means Protecting The Planet http://wesa.fm/post/these-vegans-masculinity-means-protecting-planet Real men eat meat. They kill it and then they grill it.<p>That's the stereotype, or cliche, that's about as old as time.<p>At a recent barbecue in Brooklyn, N.Y., a half-dozen guys who resist that particular cultural stereotype gathered together. Many of them are muscled semi-professional athletes, including triathlete Dominic Thompson, competitive bodybuilder Giacomo Marchese and mixed martial arts fighter Cornell Ward.<p>They're also all vegans and eschew all animal products. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 20:58:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 32973 at http://wesa.fm For These Vegans, Masculinity Means Protecting The Planet 'I Kinda Stole The Show': Laverne Cox And The Path To Prestige Television http://wesa.fm/post/i-kinda-stole-show-laverne-cox-and-path-prestige-television "My femininity was seen as a problem that needed to be solved."<p>Laverne Cox is talking about her childhood in Mobile, Ala. She remembers being routinely chased and beaten by classmates after school. Cox was born biologically male, and her gender identity was confusing and threatening not just to other children but to the grown-ups in her life as well. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 22:13:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 30543 at http://wesa.fm 'I Kinda Stole The Show': Laverne Cox And The Path To Prestige Television NSA Coverage Garners Pulitzers For Post And Guardian http://wesa.fm/post/nsa-coverage-garners-pulitzers-post-and-guardian Winners of the 2014 Pulitzer Prizes were announced Monday. The Washington Post and The Guardian were among the notable winners, commended for together breaking the news of NSA surveillance programs. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:37:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 27563 at http://wesa.fm Dance Music Legend Frankie Knuckles Dies At 59 http://wesa.fm/post/dance-music-legend-frankie-knuckles-dies-59 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hPrGnh7QUDo</p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 20:01:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 26858 at http://wesa.fm Dance Music Legend Frankie Knuckles Dies At 59 A Picket Line At The Oscars: Visual-Effects Artists To Protest http://wesa.fm/post/picket-line-oscars-visual-effects-artists-protest Hundreds of visual-effects artists are planning to picket the Academy Awards on Sunday for the second year in a row. They're hoping to bring attention to what's been happening in their industry.<p>The field is losing jobs and relocating to countries with bigger subsidies for employers. It's the result of a technical revolution that's changed the profession since it kicked off in the 70s with Star Wars creator George Lucas' visual-effects company, Industrial Light and Magic.<p>At first, visual effects was mostly engineers creating special effects with cameras, high-speed motors and models. Sat, 01 Mar 2014 14:50:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 25199 at http://wesa.fm A Baby Didn't Bump These Moms Out Of Competition http://wesa.fm/post/baby-didnt-bump-these-moms-out-competition Let's be clear: Olympians handle the physical challenges of childbirth differently than most of the rest of us.<p>Aretha Thurmond is a discus thrower who'd already competed in two Olympics when she went to the hospital in labor.<p>"So I get there and they're like, 'Yeah, whatever, you're 4 centimeters dilated. Go walk around the hospital and come back,' " she says.<p>Thurmond's hospital was part of a university, so she headed straight for its track, where she power-walked for the next two hours. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 00:22:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 23271 at http://wesa.fm A Baby Didn't Bump These Moms Out Of Competition Amiri Baraka's Legacy Both Controversial And Achingly Beautiful http://wesa.fm/post/amiri-baraka-poet-and-co-founder-black-arts-movement-dies-79 One of America's most important — and controversial — literary figures, Amiri Baraka, died on Thursday from complications after surgery following a long illness, according to his oldest son. Baraka was 79.<p>Baraka co-founded the Black Arts Movement of the 1960s. His literary legacy is as complicated as the times he lived through, from his childhood — where he recalled not being allowed to enter a segregated library — to the 2001 attack on the World Trade Center. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 22:02:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 22614 at http://wesa.fm Amiri Baraka's Legacy Both Controversial And Achingly Beautiful A YouTube Powerhouse Looks Beyond Its Gamer Base http://wesa.fm/post/youtube-powerhouse-looks-beyond-its-gamer-base One of the most popular channels on YouTube is aimed toward people who play video games. It's got tons of content — thousands of game reviews, how-to videos of people gaming away enthusiastically, even little homemade movies that people have made using video-game software.<p>That last format is a user-generated phenomenon called machinima — "little m" machinima. "Big M" Machinima is a company, and it wants to be a new media empire. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 21:18:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 21867 at http://wesa.fm A YouTube Powerhouse Looks Beyond Its Gamer Base Hollywood's New Strategy: Supporting Chinese-Made Blockbusters http://wesa.fm/post/hollywoods-new-strategy-supporting-chinese-made-blockbusters <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UqZb1bUKJQ0</p> Mon, 25 Nov 2013 07:55:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 20339 at http://wesa.fm Hollywood's New Strategy: Supporting Chinese-Made Blockbusters Most Remaining Blockbusters To Close In January http://wesa.fm/post/most-remaining-blockbusters-close-january Blockbuster is going to shut all of its company-owned stores. Some franchise stores will stay open. At its peak, the video rental chain had about 9,000 stores. Thu, 07 Nov 2013 09:54:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 19414 at http://wesa.fm Lou Reed, Beloved Contrarian, Dies http://wesa.fm/post/lou-reed-beloved-contrarian-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ffr0opfm6I4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0KaWSOlASWc</p> Sun, 27 Oct 2013 19:47:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 18820 at http://wesa.fm Lou Reed, Beloved Contrarian, Dies 'Trophy Wife' Is More Than Just A Pretty Face On ABC http://wesa.fm/post/trophy-wife-more-just-pretty-face-abc One of the strongest new sitcoms on TV this season has the worst name, but its title, <em>Trophy Wife</em>, was intended to be ironic. The show's creators, Sarah Haskins and Emily Halpern, are self-professed feminists who wanted to take on a type generally scorned in popular culture.<p>The show's eponymous character, Kate, is a reformed party girl trying to find her place in a family that includes a much older husband, Pete, his two ex-wives and three kids. When Kate inadvertently breaks Pete's nose, the situation is expertly handled by ex No. Tue, 24 Sep 2013 23:05:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 17096 at http://wesa.fm 'Trophy Wife' Is More Than Just A Pretty Face On ABC What The $@** Is Up On Cable These Days? http://wesa.fm/post/what-cable-these-days Seriously, if you were being attacked by zombies, you might yell out the word f- - -! But no one does on <em>The Walking Dead.</em> When it comes to language in this golden age of basic cable dramas, the rules are idiosyncratic and unclear.<p>"It's so arbitrary, hon," says Kurt Sutter. Tue, 10 Sep 2013 21:18:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 16303 at http://wesa.fm What The $@** Is Up On Cable These Days? Awaiting The Apocalypse In The Quiet Town Of Concord http://wesa.fm/post/awaiting-apocalypse-quiet-town-concord No place seems safe these days from someone's terrifying, post-apocalyptic imaginings. Los Angeles is wrecked in the movie <em><em>Elysium, </em></em>the South is zombie-ridden in TV's <em><em>The Walking Dead, </em></em>and now— thanks to writer Ben Winters — even the quiet streets of Concord are at risk of annihilation.<p>But it's hard to imagine anywhere <em>less</em> apocalyptic than the Corner View Restaurant in Concord, N.H. Thu, 22 Aug 2013 06:58:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 15247 at http://wesa.fm Awaiting The Apocalypse In The Quiet Town Of Concord For You To Borrow, Some Libraries Have To Go Begging http://wesa.fm/post/you-borrow-some-libraries-have-go-begging More than 90 percent of Americans say public libraries are important to their communities, according to the Pew Research Center. But the way that love translates into actual financial support varies hugely from state to state.<p>Vermont, for instance, brags that it has more libraries per capita than any other U.S. state. Some of them are remarkably quaint. In Ludlow, one library is a white clapboard Victorian, slightly frayed, ringed by lilies and sitting by the side of a brook.<p>"It's very small," says Julia Baldwin, a volunteer with the local Ladies' Aid society. Mon, 19 Aug 2013 07:07:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 15061 at http://wesa.fm For You To Borrow, Some Libraries Have To Go Begging Remembering The Multidimensional Music Of Bobby 'Blue' Bland http://wesa.fm/post/remembering-multi-dimensional-music-bobby-blue-bland <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5mFapKWF54</p> Mon, 24 Jun 2013 20:01:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 12016 at http://wesa.fm Remembering The Multidimensional Music Of Bobby 'Blue' Bland From Classic Toys To New Twists, Kids Go Back To Blocks http://wesa.fm/post/classic-toys-new-twists-kids-go-back-blocks I visited Toy Fair in New York City hunting for ideas for our summer series about kids' culture. One of the big takeaways was the increasing popularity of construction games such as Legos. Sales shot up nearly 20 percent last year. Now, it seems, every major toy manufacturer is scrambling to add new games geared toward kids building things.<p>Concurrently, I happened to visit the National Building Museum, where an impressive exhibition, PLAY WORK BUILD, showcases the museum's vast collection of block sets and building toys. Wed, 19 Jun 2013 19:02:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 11741 at http://wesa.fm From Classic Toys To New Twists, Kids Go Back To Blocks Foster Families Take Center Stage http://wesa.fm/post/foster-families-take-center-stage <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mlTGYq-sTwI</p> Mon, 03 Jun 2013 20:14:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 10704 at http://wesa.fm Foster Families Take Center Stage 'Arrested Development' Leads The Charge For Old Brands In New Media http://wesa.fm/post/arrested-development-leads-charge-old-brands-new-media <em>Arrested Development</em> returning via Netflix? Just another old-media brand reviving itself on new media.<p>The TV show, which originally ran on Fox from 2003 to 2006 and unveils new episodes on Netflix next weekend, finds itself in splendid company. Radiohead, Louis C.K., <em>Veronica Mars</em> — all found their audiences with promotion and distribution from big studios and networks. Radiohead was signed to a major music label. Louis C.K. enjoyed HBO specials and TV shows. Tue, 21 May 2013 19:37:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 9953 at http://wesa.fm 'Arrested Development' Leads The Charge For Old Brands In New Media As Audiences Shift To Cable, TV Programming Changes, Too http://wesa.fm/post/audiences-shift-cable-tv-programming-changes-too <em>Mad Men</em> comes back for its sixth season Sunday at an opportune moment for basic cable. Last weekend, 25 million viewers combined watched <em>The Bible</em> and <em>The Walking Dead</em> on basic cable channels. That's more than triple the audience for <em>The Good Wife</em> on CBS that same night.<p>So are we looking at a convergence between scripted shows on broadcast and cable? It's hard not to wonder, when you see broadcast networks rushing to replicate gruesome death scenes like the ones relished by <em>The Walking Dead</em>'s enviably sizable audience. Fri, 05 Apr 2013 07:18:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 7337 at http://wesa.fm As Audiences Shift To Cable, TV Programming Changes, Too Why Are TV Remotes So Terrible? http://wesa.fm/post/why-are-tv-remotes-so-terrible Let's call it the baby sitter's dilemma.<p>If you go to someone's house and pick up the TV remote, chances are, you won't know how it works. You know the situation's bad when even a tech writer who also majored in physics at an Ivy League school is confused by her own TV remote.<p>"It's unbearable to me," moans Ars Technica writer Casey Johnston, of her remote's many <a href="http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2013/02/smart-tvs-have-a-serious-communication-problem/">cryptic buttons</a>. "Sub.code? Comp/mix? Tue, 26 Mar 2013 07:23:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 6756 at http://wesa.fm Why Are TV Remotes So Terrible? 2013 Pritzker Winner Toyo Ito Finds Inspiration In Air, Wind And Water http://wesa.fm/post/2013-pritzker-winner-toyo-ito-finds-inspiration-air-wind-and-water Toyo Ito, a 71-year-old architect based in Japan, is the winner of the 2013 Pritzker Architecture Prize. The jury honored Ito for his more than four-decade career, in which he has created architecture that "projects an air of optimism, lightness and joy ... infused with both a sense of uniqueness and universality."<p>On the phone from his offices in Tokyo — the most densely populated city in the world — Ito says "air and wind and water," are the forces that drive him aesthetically. Sun, 17 Mar 2013 19:07:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 3467 at http://wesa.fm 2013 Pritzker Winner Toyo Ito Finds Inspiration In Air, Wind And Water From Louisiana To Versailles, Funding 'Vital Stories, Artfully Told' http://wesa.fm/post/louisiana-versailles-funding-vital-stories-artfully-told The movie <em>Beasts of the Southern Wild</em> is a fairy tale of a film. It might not seem to have much in common with documentaries about evangelical Christians in Uganda or the billionaire Koch brothers. But these films were all funded by a not-for-profit group called Cinereach. It was started by a couple of film school graduates who are still in their 20s. Wed, 20 Feb 2013 10:34:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 1244 at http://wesa.fm From Louisiana To Versailles, Funding 'Vital Stories, Artfully Told' Toy Fair: Markers That Don't Blot Walls, Sand Without The Mess http://wesa.fm/post/toy-fair-markers-dont-blot-walls-sand-without-mess <em>Toy Fair 2013 in New York started Sunday and runs until Wednesday. NPR's Neda Ulaby had the tough assignment of sizing up the acres of fun offerings. She brings us this report:</em><p>The venerable industry convention <a href="http://www2.toyassociation.org/AM/Template.cfm?Section=tf_Home">Toy Fair celebrates its 110<sup>th</sup> anniversary</a> this week. But it might as well be the 1970s or '80s within the great glassy expanse of New York City's Javits Center.<p>Vast acres of displays baldly appeal to the nostalgia of today's 30-to 40-something parents. Mon, 11 Feb 2013 19:00:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 810 at http://wesa.fm Toy Fair: Markers That Don't Blot Walls, Sand Without The Mess Reg Presley, The Voice Of 'Wild Thing,' Dies http://wesa.fm/post/reg-presley-voice-wild-thing-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z9DVJE_bhVU</p> Tue, 05 Feb 2013 21:56:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 527 at http://wesa.fm Reg Presley, The Voice Of 'Wild Thing,' Dies