All Things Considered http://wesa.fm en Risks Of Popular Anxiety Drugs Often Overshadowed http://wesa.fm/post/risks-popular-anxiety-drugs-often-overshadowed When actor Philip Seymour Hoffman died of an overdose in February, the New York City medical examiner ruled that his death was the result of "acute mixed drug intoxication." Heroin, cocaine and a widely prescribed class of drugs known as benzodiazepines, or benzos, were found in his system.<p>The drugs first burst onto the scene in the 1950s and '60s and quickly became known as "<a href="http://www.med.umich.edu/psych/faculty/metzl/07_Metzl.pdf">mother's little helper</a>," the mild tranquilizer that could soothe frazzled housewives' nerves. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 21:29:00 +0000 Susan Sharon 27630 at http://wesa.fm Risks Of Popular Anxiety Drugs Often Overshadowed The Long Wait On Safety Rules For The 'Soda Can' Of Rail Cars http://wesa.fm/post/long-wait-safety-rules-soda-can-rail-cars Freight trains roll through the Chicago suburb of Barrington, Ill., every day, many pulling older tank cars known as DOT-111s. They're known as the "soda can" of rail cars, says village President Karen Darch, because their shells are so thin.<p>Many of the DOT-111s are full of heavy Canadian tar sands crude oil. Some carry ethanol. And more and more of them are loaded with light Bakken crude oil from North Dakota.<p>"The worry is that if there's a derailment and the car is punctured, if any of the flammable materials in it ... Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:56:00 +0000 David Schaper 27628 at http://wesa.fm The Long Wait On Safety Rules For The 'Soda Can' Of Rail Cars Sending Money On An Overseas Round Trip To Avoid Taxes http://wesa.fm/post/taking-money-overseas-round-trip-avoid-taxes Some investors avoid paying taxes in a move called round-tripping — sending money offshore, then investing it in U.S. stocks or bonds. A study estimates it costs the U.S. billions in lost revenues.<p>Recently, MIT professor Michelle Hanlon and two colleagues set out to find out all they could about round-tripping.<p>"I think it's a big problem in the U.S. tax system that individuals can evade taxes and that they try to do so offshore," Hanlon says. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:56:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 27626 at http://wesa.fm Sending Money On An Overseas Round Trip To Avoid Taxes In Portugal, A Sales Receipt May Be Your Ticket To Win Big http://wesa.fm/post/portugal-sales-receipt-may-be-your-ticket-win-big On Lisbon's cobblestone lanes, the Portuguese economy is hobbling along as it always has — in cash.<p>In a tiny, 100-year-old bar, Nuno Goncalves pours out glasses of <em>ginja</em> — a Portuguese sweet cherry liqueur — for his customers, mostly old men in flat caps. A small shot-glass full costs 50 cents — cash only. There is a cash register, but it doesn't print receipts.<p>"It's a local business. They just count the money they have, and the bottles they sell," explains a customer named Felipe. "They will not give you a receipt — and you will not ask for a receipt. Because, come on! Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:56:00 +0000 Lauren Frayer 27627 at http://wesa.fm In Portugal, A Sales Receipt May Be Your Ticket To Win Big Perennial Co-Writer Returns With An Album Of His Own http://wesa.fm/post/perennial-co-writer-returns-album-his-own Dan Wilson is your favorite songwriter's favorite co-writer, lending a pen to artists from Nas to Adele. But he also writes music for himself — and he joins the program to talk more about it. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 NPR Staff 27623 at http://wesa.fm Oil Is Not All That's Booming In North Dakota — So Is Drug Trade http://wesa.fm/post/oil-not-all-thats-booming-north-dakota-so-drug-trade Local and federal authorities worry over a rise in North Dakota's drug trade. Sharon Cohen of the Associated Press explains the proposed solutions to the issue, which some tie to the recent oil boom. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 NPR Staff 27624 at http://wesa.fm Alabama Tax Program Grows Out Of A Grandfather's Lasting Legacy http://wesa.fm/post/alabama-tax-program-grows-out-grandfathers-lasting-legacy In Alabama, Stephen Black is trying to get college graduates to stay in the state and make life better for Alabamans. His inspiration is his grandfather, the late Supreme Court Justice Hugo Black. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Debbie Elliott 27625 at http://wesa.fm Gene Linked To Alzheimer's Poses A Special Threat To Women http://wesa.fm/post/gene-linked-alzheimers-poses-special-threat-women A gene associated with Alzheimer's disease appears especially dangerous to women and may be one reason that more women than men are diagnosed with the disease.<p>The gene, known as APOE4, increases the risk of developing Alzheimer's in both sexes. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 22:42:00 +0000 Jon Hamilton 27569 at http://wesa.fm Gene Linked To Alzheimer's Poses A Special Threat To Women Reunited And It Feels A Little Awkward: OutKast At Coachella http://wesa.fm/post/reunited-and-it-feels-little-awkward-outkast-coachella <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPEiAGFMnNI</p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 22:42:00 +0000 Frannie Kelley 27570 at http://wesa.fm Reunited And It Feels A Little Awkward: OutKast At Coachella NSA Coverage Garners Pulitzers For Post And Guardian http://wesa.fm/post/nsa-coverage-garners-pulitzers-post-and-guardian Winners of the 2014 Pulitzer Prizes were announced Monday. The Washington Post and The Guardian were among the notable winners, commended for together breaking the news of NSA surveillance programs. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:37:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 27563 at http://wesa.fm A 'Roller Coaster' Year For Texas Town Rocked By Blast http://wesa.fm/post/roller-coaster-year-texas-town-rocked-blast When firetrucks blew through the small town of West, Texas, on the evening of April 17, 2013, sirens screaming, naturally everybody was curious. People got in their cars and went to see the fire at the West fertilizer plant. For 10 minutes, they watched from cars and backyards as the fire grew ever bigger. A few moved as close as they could because they were filming on their smartphones. At no time did it occur to anybody that they might be in danger.<p>And then — a massive explosion. The men fighting the fire at the plant never had a chance. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:37:00 +0000 Wade Goodwyn 27564 at http://wesa.fm A 'Roller Coaster' Year For Texas Town Rocked By Blast Emicida: 'People Sample What Is Nearest To Them' http://wesa.fm/post/emicida-people-sample-what-nearest-them <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QdvYAjQYdIs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YvQLw8XRBKQ</p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:37:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 27566 at http://wesa.fm Emicida: 'People Sample What Is Nearest To Them' After Deaths, Renewed Focus On Leaky Gas Pipelines http://wesa.fm/post/after-deaths-renewed-focus-leaky-gas-pipelines After a <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/03/12/289434505/firefighters-respond-to-building-collapse-in-new-yorks-harlem">gas explosion</a> last month in New York leveled two buildings and killed eight people, an old issue received new attention: aging natural gas pipelines that leak.<p>It can take decades and billions of dollars to replace old steel and cast-iron pipes with plastic ones, but some utilities are making that a priority.<p>In Philadelphia, after a long, cold winter, construction crews are back at work. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 20:27:00 +0000 Jeff Brady 27556 at http://wesa.fm After Deaths, Renewed Focus On Leaky Gas Pipelines Nevada Ranch Dispute Ends As Feds Back Down — For Now http://wesa.fm/post/nevada-ranch-dispute-ends-feds-back-down-now Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>A standoff between federal agents and a Nevada rancher is over for now. Over the weekend, the Bureau of Land Management released about 400 head of cattle it had rounded up, fearing a violent confrontation. Militia members, including many with guns, had rallied in support of the rancher, Cliven Bundy, and his family. NPR's Ted Robbins has the story.<p>UNIDENTIFIED GROUP: No BLM. No BLM. No BLM.<p>TED ROBBINS, BYLINE: The situation came to a head on Saturday. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 20:27:00 +0000 Ted Robbins 27558 at http://wesa.fm For All You Need To Know About The Blood Moon, Ask Mr. Eclipse http://wesa.fm/post/all-you-need-know-about-blood-moon-ask-mr-eclipse Transcript <p>(SOUNDBITE OF SONG, "MOONDANCE")<p>VAN MORRISON: (Singing) Well, it's a marvelous night for a moon dance with the stars up above in your eyes.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>It's must-see astronomy tonight across most of the U.S. A full lunar eclipse, as the moon moves into the Earth's shadow and turns a lovely shade of red. It's a blood moon, and it's actually the first of four full lunar eclipses that will occur in the next 17 months. Joining me to talk about this is Fred Espenak. He runs NASA's eclipse website and he does that from Portal, Arizona. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 20:27:00 +0000 NPR Staff 27561 at http://wesa.fm Drought Could Complicate Already Difficult Food Crisis In Syria http://wesa.fm/post/drought-could-complicate-already-difficult-food-crisis-syria The war in Syria, now in its fourth year, has created a massive humanitarian crisis. More than 2 million Syrians have left the country in an attempt to escape the conflict. Sun, 13 Apr 2014 22:07:00 +0000 NPR Staff 27512 at http://wesa.fm Clashes In Eastern Ukraine Reportedly Turn Deadly http://wesa.fm/post/clashes-eastern-ukraine-reportedly-turn-deadly Transcript <p>TESS VIGELAND, HOST: <p>It's ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR West. Arun Rath is away. I'm Tess Vigeland. The crisis in Eastern Ukraine seems to be worsening. The government in Kiev says it is prepared for a large-scale assault on separatists who have taken over government buildings in cities near the Russian border. Clashes between pro-Russian forces and the Ukrainian government turned deadly in the City of Slavyansk. NPR's Ari Shapiro is in Donetsk and he joins us now with the latest. Sun, 13 Apr 2014 22:01:00 +0000 editor 27513 at http://wesa.fm Keep It Brief, Commencement Speakers! No One Will Remember Anyway http://wesa.fm/post/keep-it-brief-commencement-speakers-no-one-will-remember-anyway <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YfuwVnggIKM</p> Sun, 13 Apr 2014 20:59:00 +0000 NPR Staff 27510 at http://wesa.fm Keep It Brief, Commencement Speakers! No One Will Remember Anyway Outdated Tax Code Gives Some Working Spouses A Bad Deal http://wesa.fm/post/outdated-tax-code-gives-some-working-spouses-bad-deal Women today are nearly half the workforce, and two-income couples are the norm. But the U.S. tax code? It's straight out of <a href="http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0044230/"><em>Ozzie and Harriet</em></a>.<p>When it comes to paying taxes, economists say, a lot of secondary wage-earners are getting a raw deal. It's called the marriage penalty.<p>"The system was never designed to penalize working spouses," says Melissa Kearney, director of the Hamilton Project at The Brookings Institution. "It was just designed in a different era."<p>That era was 1948, when the U.S. Sun, 13 Apr 2014 20:59:00 +0000 Jennifer Ludden 27509 at http://wesa.fm Outdated Tax Code Gives Some Working Spouses A Bad Deal By Helping Gay Athletes, Group Hopes To Refocus On Talent http://wesa.fm/post/helping-gay-athletes-group-hopes-refocus-talent <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e07GEkJKiMM</p> Sat, 12 Apr 2014 22:28:00 +0000 NPR Staff 27479 at http://wesa.fm By Helping Gay Athletes, Group Hopes To Refocus On Talent With Crimean Borders In Dispute, Google Maps Has It Both Ways http://wesa.fm/post/crimean-borders-dispute-google-maps-has-it-both-ways In most of the world, the region is included in Russia with a dotted line. Viewed in Russia, the line is solid. Guest host Tess Vigeland speaks with John Gravois about the issues with mapping borders. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 21:15:00 +0000 editor 27476 at http://wesa.fm With Crimean Borders In Dispute, Google Maps Has It Both Ways What You May Have Missed: The Week's Sports Wrapup http://wesa.fm/post/what-you-may-have-missed-weeks-sports-wrapup The Masters is well under way and A Martinez from member station KPCC is here to talk golf with guest host Tess Vigeland. Plus, Kentucky coach John Calipari's new book and the future of the NCAA. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 21:15:00 +0000 editor 27477 at http://wesa.fm Diagnosing And Treating The Internet's Heartbleed Bug http://wesa.fm/post/diagnosing-and-treating-internets-heartbleed-bug Encryption software meant to protect users online had a giant hole in it. Researchers found the Heartbleed bug Monday but Jordan Robertson from Bloomberg Businessweek tells guest host Tess Vigeland says it's been around for a while. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 21:15:00 +0000 editor 27478 at http://wesa.fm Poisoned Cigars And A Painful Chapter In Our History http://wesa.fm/post/poisoned-cigars-and-painful-chapter-our-history The 50th anniversary of the passage of the 1964 Civil Rights Act is almost upon us, but the celebrations began this week at the Johnson presidential library. A speech by President Obama referenced "doors of opportunity" swung open by the passage of this piece of landmark legislation. But for those of us who remember when the doors were tightly shut, other images come to mind. No, it's not the soft, grainy black-and-white images of well-dressed men and women marching nobly to end the evils of segregation. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 23:24:00 +0000 editor 27452 at http://wesa.fm Poisoned Cigars And A Painful Chapter In Our History LBJ Carried Poor Texas Town With Him In Civil Rights Fight http://wesa.fm/post/lbj-carried-cotulla-him-civil-rights-fight <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EizAeISiHDM</p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:41:00 +0000 Melissa Block 27445 at http://wesa.fm LBJ Carried Poor Texas Town With Him In Civil Rights Fight