Scott Horsley http://wesa.fm en Following Enrollment Deadline, Health Care Focus Turns To States http://wesa.fm/post/following-enrollment-deadline-health-care-focus-turns-states President Obama met Thursday with insurance company executives and a separate group of insurance regulators from the states, discussing their mutual interest in administering the new health care law. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 20:23:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 27747 at http://wesa.fm Obama's Tax Rate Rose — And He Can't Blame Anyone But Himself http://wesa.fm/post/obamas-tax-rate-rose-and-he-cant-blame-anyone-himself President Obama, like many wealthy Americans, is paying more of his income to the IRS.<p>The White House <a href="http://www.whitehouse.gov/blog/2014/04/11/president-obama-and-vice-president-biden-s-2013-tax-returns">released the president's tax return</a> last week. It shows he and the first lady paid $98,169 in taxes for 2013 on income of $481,098. That's an effective tax rate of 20.4 percent.<p>In 2012, the Obamas paid just 18.4 percent of their income in taxes. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 27620 at http://wesa.fm Obama's Tax Rate Rose — And He Can't Blame Anyone But Himself As Sebelius Steps Down, Obama Taps Budget Director To Replace Her http://wesa.fm/post/sebelius-steps-down-obama-taps-budget-director-replace-her Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish. Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius got a fond farewell today from President Obama. She's resigning after a rocky tenure marred by the botched rollout of the government's health insurance exchange last fall. The president's tapping his budget director, Sylvia Mathews Burwell, to replace Sebelius. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:30:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 27443 at http://wesa.fm Health Secretary Kathleen Sebelius To Step Down http://wesa.fm/post/health-secretary-kathleen-sebelius-step-down The move comes about 6 months after the disastrous roll out of the health insurance website. It was eventually fixed, but not before delivering a severe blow to the president's approval ratings. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 09:20:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 27398 at http://wesa.fm Sebelius, Leader Of Rocky Health Care Rollout, Resigns From HHS http://wesa.fm/post/sebelius-leader-rocky-health-care-rollout-resigns-hhs Kathleen Sebelius has resigned from her position as secretary of health and human services. President Obama accepted her resignation, and he plans to nominate Sylvia Matthews Burwell to replace her. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 23:09:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 27391 at http://wesa.fm White House Learns Complications Of Pay Equity Debate http://wesa.fm/post/white-house-learns-complications-pay-equity-debate Money and politics don't always make for polite conversation, but President Obama tried to tackle both at the White House on Tuesday.<p>Obama signed a pair of executive orders aimed at encouraging conversation about men's and women's pay scales. It's a talk that Democrats hope will yield political gains this year.<p>It also raised questions, though, about how the administration pays its own people.<p>Standing before a crowd of women in the White House East Room, President Obama noted that the average woman working full time in America makes just 77 cents for every dollar earned by a man. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 22:21:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 27239 at http://wesa.fm White House Learns Complications Of Pay Equity Debate With Enrollee Goal Met, Obamacare Still Faces Political Trial http://wesa.fm/post/enrollee-goal-met-obamacare-still-faces-political-test President Obama and his supporters had a rare opportunity to celebrate this week.<p>A last-minute surge in people signing up for health insurance sent the total government enrollment figures over the seven-million mark.<p>That number seemed out of reach just a few months ago, when a crash-prone website threatened to undermine the president's signature health care law.<p>Republicans are still bent on repealing the law, but now millions more Americans have a stake in Obamacare's survival.<p>On Tuesday, the president marked the comeback. Sat, 05 Apr 2014 16:26:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 27079 at http://wesa.fm With Enrollee Goal Met, Obamacare Still Faces Political Trial In Arkansas, Voters May Get Chance To Raise Minimum Wage http://wesa.fm/post/arkansas-voters-may-get-chance-raise-minimum-wage President Obama travels to Michigan Wednesday to tout his proposal to boost the minimum wage.<p>Raising the wage to $10.10 an hour is one of the top agenda items for Obama and his fellow Democrats during this mid-term election year. The White House says the move would put more money in the pockets of some 28 million workers.<p>One test of that strategy will be in Arkansas, where proponents are trying to put a minimum wage increase on the ballot in November. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 07:54:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 26875 at http://wesa.fm In Arkansas, Voters May Get Chance To Raise Minimum Wage Cause For Hope And Frustration In the Shadow Of ACA Deadline http://wesa.fm/post/cause-hope-and-frustration-shadow-aca-deadline As the Affordable Care Act's midnight deadline draws near, there has been a surge in last-minute signups. The heavy traffic has caused both glitches in the website and optimism from some forecasters. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:37:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 26781 at http://wesa.fm Obama Meets Internet CEOs To Discuss Privacy Issues http://wesa.fm/post/obama-meets-internet-ceos-discuss-privacy-issues Leaders of high-tech companies, including Google and Facebook, descended on the White House Friday for a meeting with President Obama on the subject of privacy. The meeting itself was private. But aides say Obama wanted to hear from the CEOs about their concerns with the government's high-tech surveillance.<p>High-tech CEOs are not the obvious messengers to be delivering a privacy lecture to the government. After all, they make their money by scanning customers' emails and tracking their movements, all with the goal of serving up more targeted ads. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 20:24:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 26275 at http://wesa.fm Obama Meets Internet CEOs To Discuss Privacy Issues Obama Ratchets Up Sanctions Against Putin's Personal Allies http://wesa.fm/post/obama-ratchets-sanctions-against-putins-personal-allies Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>The Ukrainian government ordered its border guards to withdraw from Crimea today. Pro-Russian forces there seized more Ukrainian property, including at least two warships. We have more details on those events elsewhere in the program.<p>Meantime, in Moscow today, the foreign minister complained that ethnic Russians outside Crimea and eastern Ukraine are having their rights violated. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 20:36:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 26203 at http://wesa.fm A Bittersweet Goodbye: White House Pastry Chef To Move On http://wesa.fm/post/bittersweet-goodbye-white-house-pastry-chef-move The first family must be crust fallen.<p>Bill Yosses, the White House pastry chef, is moving to New York in June.<p>"Though I am incredibly sad to see Bill Yosses go, I am also so grateful to him for his outstanding work," first lady Michelle Obama said in a statement. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 23:19:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 26091 at http://wesa.fm A Bittersweet Goodbye: White House Pastry Chef To Move On With Sanctions, Obama Aims For Those Close To Putin http://wesa.fm/post/sanctions-obama-aims-those-close-putin The Obama administration is ordering new sanctions against 11 Russian and Ukrainian officials. The move is designed to penalize Russia for efforts to split Crimea away from Ukraine. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 20:20:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 26009 at http://wesa.fm After Record Deportations, Obama May Turn To More 'Humane' Options http://wesa.fm/post/after-record-deportations-obama-may-turn-more-humane-options The White House announced the president is willing to review his stance on deportations, a policy that's drawn objection from Hispanics and other groups the president depends on politically. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 25875 at http://wesa.fm Obama Lays Groundwork For Sanctions Against Russia http://wesa.fm/post/obama-lays-groundwork-sanctions-against-russia With an executive order Thursday, President Obama authorized sanctions on Russia for its involvement in Ukraine. Speaker Boehner praised the sanctions and offered congressional support going forward. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 21:16:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 25455 at http://wesa.fm In Drafting A Presidential Budget, Cost May Outweigh Benefit http://wesa.fm/post/drafting-presidential-budget-cost-may-outweigh-benefit On Tuesday, President Obama will unveil his budget proposal for the coming year. But for all the sound and fury surrounding the president's spending plan, it's likely to have very little significance. Congress routinely ignores the president's budget. And lawmakers have already settled on overall spending levels for the coming year.<p>That's led some to ask whether it's time to bring the curtain down on this annual exercise in political theater.<p>Members of Congress act as if they're eager to see the president's budget, and impatient when it's overdue. Sun, 02 Mar 2014 11:01:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 25213 at http://wesa.fm In Drafting A Presidential Budget, Cost May Outweigh Benefit After More Than A Year, Obama And Boehner Sit Down Just To Talk http://wesa.fm/post/after-more-year-obama-and-boehner-sit-down-just-talk Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>It's a sign of deeply partisan times when a Democratic president and a Republican House speaker make headlines just by sitting down and talking to each other. That's what happened today in a rare hour-long meeting that aides call constructive. How constructive is not exactly clear. And while the president and House speaker agreed to work together in areas where there's common ground, that appears to be very small territory.<p>NPR White House correspondent Scott Horsley joins me now. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 21:05:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 24992 at http://wesa.fm Obama And Democratic Governors Agree: Raise Minimum Wage http://wesa.fm/post/obama-and-democratic-governors-agree-raise-minimum-wage President Obama met Friday with more than a dozen Democratic governors at the White House. They emerged from the meeting declaring their united support for a higher national minimum wage. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 21:05:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 24812 at http://wesa.fm 'Three Amigos' Talk Trade In Mexico http://wesa.fm/post/three-amigos-talk-trade-mexico Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>President Obama is in Mexico today, for a one-day summit meeting with his fellow North American leaders. Trade tops the agenda. And President Obama signed an executive order today designed to speed up cross-border commerce. But the president's broader trade agenda appears to be slowing in the face of stiff congressional opposition.<p>NPR's Scott Horsley joins us now. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 21:40:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 24675 at http://wesa.fm CBO Predicts Job Losses From Minimum Wage Hike http://wesa.fm/post/cbo-predicts-job-losses-minimum-wage-hike Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>A new report out this afternoon poured some gasoline on the already raging debate over whether to raise the minimum wage. The report from the Congressional Budget Office says boosting the federal minimum to $10.10 an hour, as President Obama has proposed, would lift 900,000 people out of poverty. Tue, 18 Feb 2014 21:12:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 24616 at http://wesa.fm Obama Pushes Employers To Consider The Long-Term Jobless http://wesa.fm/post/obama-pushes-employers-consider-long-term-jobless Transcript <p>SCOTT SIMON, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. I'm Scott Simon. The U.S. Labor Department says there are nearly four million people in America who've been unemployed for six months or more. That number has remained stubbornly high, even as the overall unemployment rate has fallen. Yesterday, President Obama met with U.S. Sat, 01 Feb 2014 15:03:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 23735 at http://wesa.fm Obama Seeks Minimum Wage Hike With Mic And Pen http://wesa.fm/post/obama-seeks-minimum-wage-hike-mic-and-pen Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>In his State of the Union address tonight, President Obama is expected to renew his call for Congress to raise the federal minimum wage. If he's successful, that would eventually boost the paychecks of some 27 million people. In the meantime, the president will announce that he's taking immediate action to help a small fraction of those low-wage workers, the ones employed by federal contractors. Tue, 28 Jan 2014 22:08:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 23514 at http://wesa.fm Weed Grows On The White House — And Many Americans, Too http://wesa.fm/post/weed-grows-white-house-and-many-americans-too Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>President Obama has reignited the debate over the nation's marijuana laws. In an interview with The New Yorker, the president said that the thinks smoking pot is less dangerous for the individual consumer than drinking alcohol. He quickly added that he doesn't encourage the use of marijuana, but he said it's important that experiments with legalizing pot in Colorado and Washington state go forward.<p>Such comments from a sitting president might be startling, but they come at a time when Americans' attitudes toward marijuana laws are rapidly changing. Thu, 23 Jan 2014 22:18:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 23262 at http://wesa.fm Finding Common Interests, Obama And The Pope Set A Date http://wesa.fm/post/finding-common-interests-obama-and-pope-set-date President Obama plans to meet this spring with Pope Francis.<p>On Tuesday, a White House spokesman announced the president will visit the Vatican as part of European trip in March. The president is said to be looking forward to talking with the pope about their "shared commitment to fighting poverty" and income inequality.<p>The meeting will be the two men's first face-to-face encounter, but Obama has carefully followed the pope's progress since Francis took charge of the Roman Catholic Church 10 months ago. Tue, 21 Jan 2014 23:14:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 23149 at http://wesa.fm Finding Common Interests, Obama And The Pope Set A Date Fed Vice Chairman Nominee Taught Bernanke And Many Others http://wesa.fm/post/fed-vice-chairman-nominee-taught-bernanke-and-many-others Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>In other personnel news, the president has nominated Stanley Fischer to serve as the next vice chairman of the Federal Reserve. He would replace Janet Yellen, who's been promoted to chairman of the central bank. Yellen reportedly recruited Fischer personally to serve as her deputy. Wed, 15 Jan 2014 22:31:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 22893 at http://wesa.fm