Claudio Sanchez http://wesa.fm en Who's Getting Preschool Right? Researchers Point To Tulsa http://wesa.fm/post/whos-getting-preschool-right-researchers-point-tulsa Many educators say quality early childhood education programs give young children a strong foundation for kindergarten and beyond.<p>But what does a high-quality preschool program look like? Early childhood education researchers point to Tulsa, Okla., as a school system that gets it right. NPR's education team went to Tulsa to find out what help sets the city's preschool program apart. <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/04/22/304563233/what-exactly-is-high-quality-preschool">You can read more about what they found — and visit a Tulsa preschool classroom, here</a>. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 28005 at http://wesa.fm Who's Getting Preschool Right? Researchers Point To Tulsa For Early Childhood Education, Tulsa, Okla., Stands Out http://wesa.fm/post/early-childhood-education-tulsa-okla-stands-out The federal government spends almost $8 billion on preschool programs across the country, mostly on low income 4-year-olds. States spend billions more. But with at least 30 states planning to expand access to pre-K and President Obama promoting "preschool for all," what constitutes a quality preschool program?<p>NPR's education team set out to better understand what separates the nation's best programs from the rest, and that journey led to a surprising place: Tulsa, Okla. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 09:03:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 27966 at http://wesa.fm For Early Childhood Education, Tulsa, Okla., Stands Out What Exactly Is 'High-Quality' Preschool? http://wesa.fm/post/what-exactly-high-quality-preschool <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wbWRWeVe1XE</p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 09:03:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 27965 at http://wesa.fm What Exactly Is 'High-Quality' Preschool? Common Core Turns Business Leaders Against Oklahoma GOP http://wesa.fm/post/common-core-turns-business-leaders-against-oklahoma-gop Mike Neal gets annoyed when he talks about politicians in his state. Just three years ago, when the Common Core State Standards for education were implemented, no one had a problem with them, says Neal, president of the Tulsa, Okla., Regional Chamber of Commerce.<p>"It's been a really frustrating situation to the business community in Oklahoma in that we've all been on the same page, from the governor, the House, the Senate, school board members," Neal says. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 21:49:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 27060 at http://wesa.fm Common Core Turns Business Leaders Against Oklahoma GOP As Common Core Tests Approach, So Does A Sea Change In Schools http://wesa.fm/post/common-core-tests-approach-so-does-sea-change-schools Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>We're going to spend the next few minutes on a sea change in America's schools, the Common Core. It sets new benchmarks for reading and math for students from kindergarten through high school. It has been adopted in 45 states and the District of Columbia. But the changes are controversial. Opponents are racing to stop them even as teachers struggle to implement them. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 20:03:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 26074 at http://wesa.fm How The Cost Of College Went From Affordable To Sky-High http://wesa.fm/post/how-cost-college-went-affordable-sky-high <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YL4PP2kS-fg</p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 08:44:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 26032 at http://wesa.fm How The Cost Of College Went From Affordable To Sky-High College Board Breaks Out Red Pen For SAT Corrections http://wesa.fm/post/college-board-breaks-out-red-pen-sat-corrections Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block.<p>The most widely used measure of a student's readiness for college is getting a makeover. The College Board is changing the SAT. It's the second major revision of the test in nine years.<p>NPR's Claudio Sanchez joins us now to tell us what the new SAT might look like. Wed, 05 Mar 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 25398 at http://wesa.fm Teachers Unions Mobilize To Delay The Common Core http://wesa.fm/post/teachers-unions-mobilize-delay-common-core Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>The nation's largest teachers union is calling for a delay in the adoption of the Common Core. That's the name of new math and language arts standards that are supposed to be in place next fall in 45 states. The 3 million-member National Education Association has been a strong supporter. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 21:03:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 25054 at http://wesa.fm Part-Time Professors Demand Higher Pay; Will Colleges Listen? http://wesa.fm/post/part-time-professors-demand-higher-pay-will-colleges-listen When you think about minimum-wage workers, college professors don't readily come to mind. Mon, 03 Feb 2014 21:52:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 23828 at http://wesa.fm Part-Time Professors Demand Higher Pay; Will Colleges Listen? The Obamas Hope To Ease Path For Low-Income Students http://wesa.fm/post/obamas-hope-ease-path-low-income-students President Obama and first lady Michelle Obama hosted a meeting with college presidents and organizations involved in raising the number of low-income students who pursue a college degree. No more than half of low income high school graduates apply to college right after graduation, compared to 82 percent for high-income students. The administration says it's intent on closing that gap. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 22:35:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 22957 at http://wesa.fm Parents Worry Schools Overlook Girls Who Aren't College-Bound http://wesa.fm/post/parents-worry-schools-overlook-girls-who-arent-college-bound Kyrah Whatley, 17, is a bright student with pretty good grades. But the thought of spending two to four more years in a college classroom is depressing, she says.<p>Masonry, on the other hand, intrigues her. "I'm a kinesthetic learner. ... Wed, 11 Dec 2013 10:07:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 21173 at http://wesa.fm Parents Worry Schools Overlook Girls Who Aren't College-Bound Kids Pay The Price In Fight Over Fixing Philadelphia Schools http://wesa.fm/post/kids-pay-price-fight-over-fixing-philadelphia-schools <em>This is the first in a three-part report on Philadelphia schools in crisis. Thu, 21 Nov 2013 08:25:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 20167 at http://wesa.fm Kids Pay The Price In Fight Over Fixing Philadelphia Schools Is Pitbull 'Mr. Education'? Rapper Opens Charter School In Miami http://wesa.fm/post/pitbull-mr-education-rapper-opens-charter-school-miami Rapper Pitbull (Armando Christian Pérez) is the latest in a long list of celebrities lending their star power to the flourishing charter school movement. Alicia Keyes, Denzel Washington, Shakira, Oprah — all support or sponsor charter schools.<p>The <a href="http://www.slammiami.com/" target="_blank">Sports Leadership And Management Academy (SLAM)</a>, Pitbull's new public charter school for students in grades six through 12, opened this fall in Miami's Little Havana neighborhood. Tue, 15 Oct 2013 21:02:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 18188 at http://wesa.fm Is Pitbull 'Mr. Education'? Rapper Opens Charter School In Miami College Board 'Concerned' About Low SAT Scores http://wesa.fm/post/college-board-concerned-about-low-sat-scores The College Board, sponsor of the SAT, says <a href="http://research.collegeboard.org/programs/sat/data/cb-seniors-2013" target="_blank">latest scores show</a> that roughly 6 in 10 college-bound high school students who took the test were so lacking in their reading, writing and math skills, they were unprepared for college-level work.<p>The College Board is calling for big changes to better prepare students for college and career.<p><strong>Stagnant Scores</strong><p>The average SAT score this year was 1498 out of a possible 2400. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 21:02:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 17215 at http://wesa.fm College Board 'Concerned' About Low SAT Scores In Push For 'Common' Standards, Many Parents Left Uneducated http://wesa.fm/post/push-common-standards-many-parents-left-uneducated Forty-five states have adopted the Common Core State Standards, the first-ever national academic standards for students. But opposition is growing, and some lawmakers are having second thoughts about their states' support.<p>Meanwhile, proponents of the standards are still struggling to explain the initiative to parents, many of whom say they've never even heard of Common Core.<p><strong>Looking For Direction</strong><p>Cynthia Clay has been a teacher and administrator in Middletown, Del., for 31 years. Sun, 22 Sep 2013 20:59:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 16961 at http://wesa.fm In Push For 'Common' Standards, Many Parents Left Uneducated The Sad Death Of An Adjunct Professor Sparks A Labor Debate http://wesa.fm/post/adjunct-professor-dies-destitute-then-sparks-debate The death of a long-time, part-time professor in Pittsburgh is gathering the attention of instructors nationwide. The trend of relying on part-time faculty has been in the works for decades, and Margaret Mary Vojtko's story is seen by some as a tragic byproduct.<p>Last spring, months before her death, Vojtko showed up at a meeting between adjunct professors at Duquesne University and the union officials who had been trying to organize them. Sun, 22 Sep 2013 11:37:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 16945 at http://wesa.fm New School Year Brings Sequestration Pain For Many Districts http://wesa.fm/post/new-school-year-brings-sequestration-pain-many-districts The superintendent of the Lancaster, Pa., school district is meeting with teachers and staff at George Washington Elementary. It's the start of a new school year, and he's trying to sound upbeat about the district's finances.<p>"We continue to lose 5 and 10 percent of budgets each year," Pedro Rivera tells them. "And our overall goal is to make those plans and stretch out dollars to not impact you, because no kids should go without. Right?"<p>Applause is polite but scattered, and Rivera's question hangs in the air. Sat, 07 Sep 2013 10:25:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 16133 at http://wesa.fm New School Year Brings Sequestration Pain For Many Districts Do The Data Exist To Make A College-Rating System Work? http://wesa.fm/post/does-data-exist-make-college-rating-system-work President Obama unveiled a plan on Thursday that would, for the first time, tie federal student aid to a new rating system for colleges and universities. Thu, 22 Aug 2013 21:08:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 15300 at http://wesa.fm Do The Data Exist To Make A College-Rating System Work? What's Behind The Turnaround At Miami Public Schools? http://wesa.fm/post/whats-behind-turnaround-miami-public-schools Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>For years, Miami-Dade County Public Schools faced problems common to many urban schools: low attendance, high dropout rates, poor grades. But since 2008, Alberto Carvalho has been in charge of the nation's fourth largest school district, and there've been some noticeable improvements in Miami schools. Tue, 20 Aug 2013 21:22:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 15170 at http://wesa.fm The Charter School Vs. Public School Debate Continues http://wesa.fm/post/charter-school-vs-public-school-debate-continues Charter schools turn 21 this year. In that time, these privately run, publicly funded schools have spread to 41 states and enrolled more than 2 million students.<p>But one key question lingers: Do kids in charter schools learn more than kids in traditional public schools?<p>There have been lots of skirmishes over charter school data over the years. Tue, 16 Jul 2013 21:03:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 13238 at http://wesa.fm The Charter School Vs. Public School Debate Continues Student Loan Rates Set To Double On July 1 http://wesa.fm/post/student-loan-rates-set-double-july-1 The interest rate on government-backed student loans is going to jump from 3.4 percent to 6.8 percent Monday.<p>Republicans, Democrats and the Obama administration could not agree on a plan to keep it from happening. Lawmakers say a deal is still possible after the July 4 recess. Fri, 28 Jun 2013 08:33:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 12235 at http://wesa.fm Student Loan Rates Set To Double On July 1 Study: Teacher Prep Programs Get Failing Marks http://wesa.fm/post/study-teacher-prep-programs-get-failing-marks The U.S. Tue, 18 Jun 2013 06:56:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 11631 at http://wesa.fm Study: Teacher Prep Programs Get Failing Marks Online College Courses Get A Big Boost, But Doubts Persist http://wesa.fm/post/online-college-courses-get-big-boost-doubts-persist From New Mexico to New York, 10 state university systems have announced they are joining the ranks of elite institutions embracing the massive open online course, or MOOC, system.<p>On Thursday, they unveiled a landmark partnership with <a href="https://www.coursera.org/">Coursera, a for-profit tech company</a> with 3.5 million registered students. Thu, 30 May 2013 21:00:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 10510 at http://wesa.fm Online College Courses Get A Big Boost, But Doubts Persist 30 Years On, Educators Still Divided On Scathing Schools Report http://wesa.fm/post/30-years-educators-still-divided-scathing-schools-report Thirty years ago this week, President Ronald Reagan's administration released "A Nation at Risk," a report warning of "a rising tide of mediocrity" in American public education.<p>According to the report, only one-third of 17-year-olds in 1983 could solve a math problem requiring two steps or more, and 4 out of 10 teenagers couldn't draw inferences from written material. Fri, 26 Apr 2013 21:32:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 8565 at http://wesa.fm 'Core' Curriculum Puts Education Experts At Odds http://wesa.fm/post/core-curriculum-puts-education-experts-odds At 2 p.m., it's crunchtime for students who write for <a href="http://smeharbinger.net/">The Harbinger Online</a><em>,</em> the award-winning, student news site at Shawnee Mission East High just outside Kansas City, Kan. Sun, 14 Apr 2013 08:58:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 7799 at http://wesa.fm