Elderly http://wesa.fm en Steps for Older Adults to Reduce the Risk of Falling http://wesa.fm/post/steps-older-adults-reduce-risk-falling <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Among people 65 and older, falling is a dangerous reality. Yet a new program has reduced falls among the elderly by 17 percent statewide according to the University of Pittsburgh Graduate School of Public Health. </span><a href="http://www.publichealth.pitt.edu/home/our-faculty?department=Behavioral+and+Community+Health+Sciences&amp;letter=%25&amp;type=Primary+Faculty&amp;pagesize24=true&amp;uid=1" style="line-height: 1.5;">Steven Albert is</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> </span><a href="http://www.publichealth.pitt.edu/home/our-faculty?department=Behavioral+and+Community+Health+Sciences&amp;letter=%25&amp;type=Primary+Faculty&amp;pagesize24=true&amp;uid=1" style="line-height: 1.5;">Chairman</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> of the Department of Behavioral and Community Health Services and says older adults often do not realize the severity of their falling risk.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 20:33:40 +0000 Katherine Blackley 27210 at http://wesa.fm Steps for Older Adults to Reduce the Risk of Falling Experts Say PA Senior Care Needs Improvements http://wesa.fm/post/experts-say-pa-senior-care-needs-improvements <p>With more than 2 million citizens 65 or older, Pennsylvania has the fourth oldest population in the United States, and experts say they aren’t getting the care they need.</p><p>Advocates and senior citizen care professionals met to discuss the safety of the state’s elderly with a Pennsylvania Senate committee. Drawing up a four-year aging plan for the state, the meetings emphasis was on senior abuse.</p><p>Self-neglect and caregiver neglect make up about 65 percent of all reported abuse cases in the state, but the majority of cases go unreported, according to the panel.</p> Sun, 12 Jan 2014 08:30:00 +0000 Michael Lynch 22581 at http://wesa.fm United Way Report: Elderly Needs on the Rise http://wesa.fm/post/united-way-report-elderly-needs-rise <p>Fewer funds and resources for elderly and disabled people along with a growing aging population are creating problems of “epic proportion,” according to a new report from the United Way of Allegheny County.</p><p>United Way President Bob Nelkin said that with new medical advancements people are now outliving their spouses and caregivers more than before, and their needs are increasing.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 23 Oct 2013 21:35:59 +0000 Tim Camerato 18617 at http://wesa.fm Sen. Casey Wants to Get Tough on Senior Scammers http://wesa.fm/post/sen-casey-wants-get-tough-senior-scammers <p>According to the latest numbers from the Federal Trade Commission, 26 percent of all securities fraud is perpetrated against seniors, but seniors only represent 14 percent of the nation’s population.</p> Tue, 18 Jun 2013 20:46:58 +0000 Mark Nootbaar 11680 at http://wesa.fm Scam Targets Elderly With Health Concerns http://wesa.fm/post/scam-targets-elderly-health-concerns <p>Senior citizens are being targeted in the latest over-the-phone scam.</p><p>The Pennsylvania Attorney General’s office has issued a warning to seniors after a recent spike in “robocalls.”</p><p>These robocalls are designed to obtain credit card and other personal information from unknowing victims by claiming to sell medical equipment like life monitors for $35 a month. In recent calls, companies identified themselves as “Senior Medical Alert” or “Senior Medical Advisors.”</p> Mon, 10 Jun 2013 07:30:00 +0000 Michael Lynch 10842 at http://wesa.fm