Soundscapes http://wesa.fm en Listen: At Banjo Night, Some Old-Fashioned Fun With 'America's Instrument' http://wesa.fm/post/listen-banjo-night-some-old-fashioned-fun-americas-instrument <p>The <a href="http://home.earthlink.net/~pittsburghbanjoclub/">Pittsburgh Banjo Club</a> has been playing together for 25 years, but it still manages to get audiences clapping, singing and dancing along to some of the biggest hits of the 1920s and '30s, as well as a few Pittsburgh favorites.</p><p>Every Wednesday&nbsp;night the group puts on a show for a diverse audience at the Elks Lodge in Pittsburgh's North Side. The music starts at 8 p.m.</p><p> Wed, 14 Aug 2013 15:00:39 +0000 Haldan Kirsch 14524 at http://wesa.fm Listen: At Banjo Night, Some Old-Fashioned Fun With 'America's Instrument' Take a Ride with the Gateway Clipper Fleet http://wesa.fm/post/take-ride-gateway-clipper-fleet <p>The Gateway Clipper is celebrating its 55th year on Pittsburgh's three rivers. Going for a ride on any of the Clipper's six ships gives Pittsburghers a chance to travel under its famous bridges and listen to their voice echo against Pittsburgh steel.&nbsp;</p><p>The Clipper offers one-hour sightseeing cruises, shuttle services to the North Shore for sporting events and specialty and theme cruises. The fleet is also available for event rentals.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 20 Jun 2013 16:28:48 +0000 Haldan Kirsch 11668 at http://wesa.fm Take a Ride with the Gateway Clipper Fleet For Students, Pens Hockey is Worth the Wait http://wesa.fm/post/students-pens-hockey-worth-wait <p>High school and college students have the opportunity to buy discounted tickets online for every Pittsburgh Penguins home game. Mon, 15 Apr 2013 16:23:00 +0000 Rachel R. Grozanick 7530 at http://wesa.fm For Students, Pens Hockey is Worth the Wait Giggles the Kookaburra Stays True to His Name http://wesa.fm/post/giggles-kookaburra-stays-true-his-name <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Giggles the Kookaburra lives at the National Aviary in Pittsburgh’s North Shore. Native to Australia, Laughing Kookaburras have the nickname of the “bushman’s alarm clock” due to their tendency to make their raucous laughing call early in the morning.</span></p><p> Mon, 15 Apr 2013 16:21:04 +0000 Rachel R. Grozanick 7528 at http://wesa.fm Giggles the Kookaburra Stays True to His Name Lawrenceville Cookie Tour a Real Treat http://wesa.fm/post/lawrenceville-cookie-tour-real-treat <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Once a year, the Lawrenceville Corporation organizes the Joy of Cookies shopping tour. This year, 26 businesses set out plates of treats along the Butler Street route, giving neighbors a chance to meet in a very merry&nbsp;setting.</span></p><p> Mon, 15 Apr 2013 16:08:47 +0000 Margaret J. Krauss 4082 at http://wesa.fm Chandelier Cleaning a Delicate and Difficult Affair http://wesa.fm/post/chandelier-cleaning-delicate-and-difficult-affair <p>One of the three crystal chandeliers in the William Penn Hotel is lowered to the lobby floor for hand cleaning. Dusting and buffing the 1,754 individual pieces takes a three-person team eight hours to complete. Mon, 15 Apr 2013 16:00:25 +0000 Margaret J. Krauss 7524 at http://wesa.fm Grumbling and Creaking, the Duquesne Incline Climbs On http://wesa.fm/post/grumbling-and-creaking-duquesne-incline-climbs <p>Take a ride on the Duquesne Incline. Its cars have carted Pittsburghers up and down Mount Washington since 1877. And it sounds like it.</p><p> Mon, 15 Apr 2013 15:58:13 +0000 Margaret J. Krauss 4084 at http://wesa.fm Can Pittsburgh Survive a Zombie Apocalypse? http://wesa.fm/post/can-pittsburgh-survive-zombie-apocalypse <p>Co-owner of Lawrenceville’s House of the Dead, Chuck Cramer believes Pittsburgh stands little chance of surviving a zombie apocalypse.</p><p> Mon, 15 Apr 2013 15:52:11 +0000 Margaret J. Krauss 4085 at http://wesa.fm Games as 'Social Grease' and 'Spatial Glue' http://wesa.fm/post/games-social-grease-and-spatial-glue <p>Adam Nelson plays games and thinks you should, too. Nelson ruminates on how games can change a city’s landscape and its citizens for the better.</p><p> Mon, 15 Apr 2013 15:48:00 +0000 Margaret J. Krauss 4083 at http://wesa.fm For Mustache Champ, a Growing Sense of Community http://wesa.fm/post/mustache-champ-growing-sense-community <p>Winner of the 2012 Robert Goulet Memorial Mustached American of the Year award, Adam Paul Causgrove ruminates on the past, present and future of the mustache.</p><p> Mon, 15 Apr 2013 15:42:21 +0000 Margaret J. Krauss 4086 at http://wesa.fm For Mustache Champ, a Growing Sense of Community