pregnancy http://wesa.fm en Recommended reading for fans of BBC's 'Call the Midwife' http://wesa.fm/post/recommended-reading-fans-bbcs-call-midwife <p>As the popular British drama "Call the Midwife" returns for a second season on PBS, Morgantown-based author and certified nurse-midwife <a href="http://www.patriciaharman.com">Patricia Harman</a> offers recommendations for readers with an interest in the practice.</p><p></p><p></p><p>Jennifer Worth, <a href="http://catalog.einetwork.net/search~S1?/tthe+midwife/tmidwife/1%2C24%2C41%2CB/frameset&amp;FF=tmidwife+a+memoir+of+birth+joy+and+hard+times&amp;1%2C%2C2"><em>The Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times</em></a></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 25 Mar 2013 09:18:00 +0000 Josh Raulerson 2264 at http://wesa.fm Recommended reading for fans of BBC's 'Call the Midwife' Depression Affects One in Seven New Mothers; Number Higher than Previously Believed http://wesa.fm/post/depression-affects-one-seven-new-mothers-number-higher-previously-believed <p>A new study from The University of Pittsburgh found that new mothers are more likely to experience depression before, during and/or after pregnancy.&nbsp;</p><p>Researchers found that one in seven women have experienced depression. The study, published last week in the journal of The American Medical Association, is believed to be the largest of its kind.</p><p>Ten thousand new mothers from Southwestern Pennsylvania were screened over four years ending in 2011.</p> Mon, 18 Mar 2013 21:24:38 +0000 Erika Beras 3412 at http://wesa.fm