Pittsburgh Penguins http://wesa.fm en Station Square Honors Pittsburgh Sports History With Fountain Show http://wesa.fm/post/station-square-honors-pittsburgh-sports-history-fountain-show <p>Water and oil might not mix — but what about water, music, colored lights and sports?</p><p>Station Square unveiled a new water fountain show Thursday that honors Pittsburgh’s rich sports history.</p><p>The nearly 11-minute show features hundreds of multi-colored jets choreographed to spray water 40 feet into the air.</p><p>With water dancing to the beat of songs like “Crazy Train” by Ozzy Osborne and Queen’s “We are the Champions,” the performance incorporates sound clips of historic sports moments from the Steelers, Penguins and Pirates throughout the years.</p> Thu, 15 Aug 2013 19:58:00 +0000 Michael Lynch 14938 at http://wesa.fm Station Square Honors Pittsburgh Sports History With Fountain Show Penguins Ready to Submit Arena Development Plan http://wesa.fm/post/penguins-ready-submit-arena-development-plan <p>Three years after the final event at the Civic Arena — a James Taylor/Carole King reunion concert — and 15 months after the demolition of the arena was completed, the Pittsburgh Penguins are nearly ready to submit their plan for reuse of that site.</p><p>The deal that kept the Penguins from leaving town included the building of a new facility, the Consol Energy Center, and the development rights for the 28 acres on which the old arena and parking lots sat.</p> Mon, 08 Jul 2013 07:30:00 +0000 Kevin Gavin 12599 at http://wesa.fm What About Bob? Sports Talk with Bob Dvorchak http://wesa.fm/post/what-about-bob-sports-talk-bob-dvorchak-3 <p></p><p>With the Penguins extended playoff run, Pittsburgh businesses are getting an <a href="http://www.wtae.com/sports/penguins/businesses-scoring-at-cash-register-from-penguins-playoff-run/-/11800188/20131114/-/iqhhx7z/-/index.html">extra influx of cash</a>. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette sportswriter emeritus <strong>Bob Dvorchak</strong> talks about the business perks of chasing the cup and some interesting <a href="http://www.golfdigest.com/golf-equipment/blogs/hotlist365/2013/05/long-putter-use-on-the-decline.html">rule changes</a> in store for golfers who use the long putter aka belly putter. Fri, 31 May 2013 23:02:29 +0000 Heather McClain 10591 at http://wesa.fm What About Bob? Sports Talk with Bob Dvorchak Pens Fans Flock to Pep Rally http://wesa.fm/post/pens-fans-flock-pep-rally <p>Allegheny County held a pep rally in the courtyard of the County Courthouse Friday in anticipation of the Penguins facing off against the Boston Bruins Saturday in the Eastern Conference Finals.</p><p>The rally had a carnival-like atmosphere with games, prizes, face paintings, Penguins-themed sugar cookies and performances from Pittsburgh musicians Freddie Nelson and the Kardasz Brothers. WDVE’s Val Porter hosted the event and pulled people on stage to participate in contests for best-dressed Penguins fan, best Penguins cheer, best Penguins sign and best player look-alike.</p> Fri, 31 May 2013 19:30:30 +0000 Michael Lynch 10572 at http://wesa.fm Pens Fans Flock to Pep Rally Sports Talk with Bob Dvorchak http://wesa.fm/post/sports-talk-bob-dvorchak-1 <p>According to urban legend, athletes and teams that appear on the cover of Sports Illustrated have been known to experience a streak of <a href="http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/features/cover/2002/jinx/main/">bad luck</a>. So what's in the stars for Penguins Center, Sidney Crosby now that he's on the <a href="http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/nhl/photos/7001/sidney-crosby-career/16/">cover of SI</a>?&nbsp;</p><p>And the lasting legacy of late Pittsburgh Steelers Hall of Famer <a href="http://www.steelers.com/news/article-1/Hall-of-Famer-Jack-Butler-85/bf28f2b7-66c3-4b7f-936b-e8f49a37c06c">Jack Butler</a> is definitely felt by Pittsburgh Post Gazette Sports Writer emeritus, <strong>Bob Dvorchak</strong>.</p><blockquote><p>"He played in an era when the Steelers did not have a great team. But he helped define that team."</p></blockquote><p>Butler passed away last weekend and was a guest on Essential Pittsburgh before being inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2012.</p><p> Sun, 12 May 2013 23:37:09 +0000 Heather McClain 9410 at http://wesa.fm Sports Talk with Bob Dvorchak Penguins-Bruins Game Postponed Due to Boston Manhunt http://wesa.fm/post/penguins-bruins-game-postponed-due-boston-manhunt <p>The Red Sox and Bruins postponed their games on Friday night while authorities searched for a suspect in the Boston Marathon bombings.<br><br>No makeup date was announced for the opener of the Red Sox three-game series against the Kansas City Royals scheduled for Friday night at Fenway Park. The Bruins game against the Pittsburgh Penguins at TD Garden was tentatively rescheduled for Saturday at 12:30 p.m.<br> Fri, 19 Apr 2013 20:26:40 +0000 The Associated Press 8165 at http://wesa.fm For Students, Pens Hockey is Worth the Wait http://wesa.fm/post/students-pens-hockey-worth-wait <p>High school and college students have the opportunity to buy discounted tickets online for every Pittsburgh Penguins home game. Mon, 15 Apr 2013 16:23:00 +0000 Rachel R. Grozanick 7530 at http://wesa.fm For Students, Pens Hockey is Worth the Wait