Wayne Fontana http://wesa.fm en Lyft and Uber Await Answer From PUC for Temporary Licenses http://wesa.fm/post/lyft-and-uber-await-answer-puc-temporary-licenses <p>Mayor Bill Peduto lifted his cell phone up, showing the Lyft and Uber apps on his screen.</p><p>“I don’t drive them, but I use them,” Peduto said. “I’ve used them both in the city of Pittsburgh and also in Washington, D.C., and Philadelphia. It’s very easy to use.”</p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 23:20:16 +0000 Jessica Nath 32425 at http://wesa.fm Lyft and Uber Await Answer From PUC for Temporary Licenses Lawmakers Prep Ride-Sharing Legislation http://wesa.fm/post/lawmakers-prep-ride-sharing-legislation <p>State legislators are preparing a measure that would allow ride-sharing services such as Lyft and Uber to operate in Pennsylvania, days after administrative judges with the Public Utility Commission (PUC) ordered the companies to cease operations.</p><p>Sen. Wayne Fontana (D-Allegheny) has already drafted a bill that would lessen the PUC's regulations on background checks, insurance, vehicle inspections, and most importantly, licensing.</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 17:34:55 +0000 Michael Lynch 32022 at http://wesa.fm Senate Bill Aims To Help Homeowners Afford Sewer Lateral Repairs http://wesa.fm/post/senate-bill-aims-help-homeowners-afford-sewer-lateral-repairs <p>About 750 miles of sewer laterals, or the pipes that connect private homes to the publicly-owned main sewer lines, run underneath Pittsburgh – many of which are damaged.</p><p>That’s according to Senator Wayne Fontana (D-Allegheny), who said repairing and replacing these pipes can cost anywhere from $5,000 to $35,000, and that burden falls on the homeowners.</p><p>But he said his legislation aims to solve that problem.</p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 11:44:14 +0000 Jessica Nath 30426 at http://wesa.fm Lawmakers Take Aim at Bill That Changed the Way Unemployment is Calculated, Paid http://wesa.fm/post/lawmakers-take-aim-bill-changed-way-unemployment-calculated-paid <p>Initially touted as making the state’s Unemployment Compensation Fund solvent, Act 60 was passed in 2012 and implemented at the beginning of 2013. A provision in the Unemployment Compensation Solvency legislation changed the way unemployment compensation is calculated and paid to workers.</p> Mon, 02 Dec 2013 08:30:00 +0000 Deanna Garcia 20441 at http://wesa.fm Child Protection Legislation Passed by PA Senate http://wesa.fm/post/child-protection-legislation-passed-pa-senate <p>A legislative package aimed at deterring child abuse in Pennsylvania is a big step closer to becoming law.</p><p>Two weeks after approving six child protection bills, the state Senate has unanimously passed another five measures to strengthen current law.&nbsp;</p><p>These bills would:</p> Thu, 17 Oct 2013 18:59:51 +0000 Kevin Gavin 18304 at http://wesa.fm Fontana: Reforming Child Abuse Laws 'Taking a Long Time' http://wesa.fm/post/fontana-reforming-child-abuse-laws-taking-long-time <p>A Pittsburgh-area state lawmaker believes last week’s conviction of a former Pittsburgh Public Schools police officer demonstrates the need for immediate reporting of suspected child abuse.</p><p>Robert Lellock, 44, of Pittsburgh was convicted of sexually assaulting four boys at the Rooney Middle School on the North Side during the 1998-99 academic year.</p> Tue, 06 Aug 2013 07:30:00 +0000 Kevin Gavin 14323 at http://wesa.fm PA Task Force Looks to Update Child Abuse Laws http://wesa.fm/post/pa-task-force-looks-update-child-abuse-laws <p>Sixteen new pieces of legislation are being introduced in the Pennsylvania State Senate this week in an effort to update and improve the state's child abuse laws.</p><p>The bills, sponsored by a bipartisan mix of 24 senators, come as a response to recommendations made by the Pennsylvania Task Force on Child Protection in its November 30<sup>th</sup> report. &nbsp;</p> Mon, 18 Mar 2013 20:13:08 +0000 Tim Camerato 3522 at http://wesa.fm